Big Buzz from Tiny Town: Aka Munchkinville

                I first heard about Munchkinville from my brother back when I was in high school. He told me that there was a town near Rumpke Dump in Colerain where evil midgets lived. He even claimed that one chased him and his friends with a shotgun when they tried to scope it out one night.

I asked around at school and sure enough, others had heard about it, too. As it turns out, the supposed town was near the ghost of Amy on Lick Road, only a few miles apart from each other. So my friends and I decided to kill two birds with one stone one night back in high school. We did this multiple times. We never did see anyone, but then again we didn’t walk around as many people claimed to have done.

However, I do remember vividly in my mind seeing a couple tiny houses on the side of the road, one in particular was red. But as I made a new trip out there, I could not find anything! I got so frustrated with myself. I drove up and down every side road and down and back Bank Road twice.

Soon I was running out of gas and patience. With my tank and stomach both on empty, and gas selling for $2.40 a gallon, I opted to fill up the latter and ditch my search.

I found pictures online of the place, and there’s no way in hell I could have missed it if it was still there. I went in broad daylight and drove up and down every road and side road in the area. I’m convinced it has been bulldozed. That or the little people packed up and skipped town.

Of course, truth is there has never been a true Munchkinville here in Cincinnati, at least not one that holds up to the standards of the urban legend gossip.

In fact, Munchkinville is actually Handle Bar Ranch.  The late Cincinnati Post ran a story uncovering the truth about the legend years ago.  

Apparently, a couple, Anna and Percy Ritter, moved out to the 30-acre farm in Colerain Township in 1940. They lived up the side of the hill that looked down onto Handle Bar Ranch, which the two built and added their own artistic style to. One day Percy brought home some school bells and left them by the edge of the road, and with that the legend was born.

Kids would drive by at night and stop to ring the bell. When the Ritter’s would come out on their porch they looked pretty small to the kids way up the hill.

For the full Cincinnati Post story with far more details than I’m giving you, Click Here.

While many people claim to have seen crazy little people chasing them with weapons, Munchkinville has never existed in the way we have all been told.

If you’re interested in more details about Munchkinville, check out these sites.

This isn’t the best site for information, but there are a few photos, though not of good quality. http://www.geocities.com/bean_suzaku/munch.htm

There is no information here yet, but I’m sure they will have something soon. http://www.oh-craps.com/munchkinville.html

6 Responses to “Big Buzz from Tiny Town: Aka Munchkinville”

  1. Muckinland was on Hughes road which is right off of Bank road. They tore it down over the summer and flatten out the patch of ground it was on. My friends and I used to drive down there and get out at like 3 in the morning to find something crazy. My grandparents lived right by there and the only person that I ever saw was a guy that sat in the first small building and would run kids off that tried to trespass. It was kinda creepy though because sometimes he would have a shotgun or a rifle with him.

  2. angela willis Says:

    i have been to munchkinville in the middle of the night and nothing has ever happen to me no one ever came out and no one chased me with a shotgun. this is nothing but an urban legand that someone made up to scare ppl and it really just got out of hand. i am glad they tore it down i am sure that everyone who lived around it was glad to see it go because they were probably sick and tired of ppl vandalizing there property.

  3. […]we like to honor many other internet sites on the web, even if they aren’t linked to us, by linking to them. Under are some webpages worth checking out[…]……

    […]Here are some of the sites we recommend for our visitors[…]……

  4. Ravinder Tulsiani…

    […]Big Buzz from Tiny Town: Aka Munchkinville « Debunking Cincinnati[…]…

  5. Jen Whitt Says:

    I went to Munchkinville in 1999 with 3 friends late one night and 2 little people came to the front door of a little house on the right and shot a shotgun in the air to scare us off! It was there and little ppl were there too!

  6. Amanda and Angela sorry u are both wrong and so is this guy and the post who supposedly debunked it. Me, my girlfriend(at the time) and friends went there, it was only 7 or so miles from where I lived in Forest Park. There were midgets/munckins living there and we stopped and blew the horn and a couple of them came at our car with a pictchfork. My wife also went there when she was younger with her sister and they had one jump out and hit the window, so please dont spew out bull about stuff u have no clue about.

Leave a Reply

